We all need standards. The standards we have for individuals need to be higher than those we hold for entities or ideas.. When those standards are met, I consider it a success. When those standards are not met, I consider it a failure. But I would never consider a person a failure, although I would consider it a failure if they didn’t meet my standard for a given idea/entitiy. That is a fine-grained distinction, granted. I don’t worry about hurting an entity’s or an idea’s feelings. Also, just because I consider something a “failure” doesn’t mean there aren’t exceptions that I’m unaware of. I’m making a generalization, and by making it I’m hoping to improve things by pointing out weaknesses in an idea,or entity. Also, your standards and expectations may be different. That doesn’t make them better or worse than mine. I accept and acknowledge that. Additionally, standards change with time and experience. If they don’t, you go through life with no expectations of things getting better. I’m not that person.